Strange Homes [Review]

Strange Homes - Mallory

If you carry on following this blog, you’ll notice a few reoccurring themes. One of which is that I fucking love punks with banjos/mandolins/accordions. Seriously, recommend a band like that and there’s a 99.9%* chance I’ll like them. What can I say? I’m set in my ways…

So, that said, it’s not entirely surprising that when I stumbled over this album, I knew about 6 seconds into opening track ‘The House You Were Raised In’ that I was going to enjoy it. The track features guest vocals from Sofia Albam, who also plays in Sons Of  An Illustrious Father (who you should also check out and I will most likely review soon, see: http://www.myspace.com/sonsofanillustriousfather ). Throughout the album there’s fantastic use of vocal harmonies, or, to use more punx terminology, gang vocals.

The lyrics are spot on in terms of balancing and combining the political and personal, which is refreshing, because as much as I love a protest song, they can sometimes feel more like being shouted at than something to relate to.  The overall charm of the band means that they get away with recycling certain lyrical conventions of the genre (burning buildings, pipe bombs, hopping trains, I’m sure coffee must be in there somewhere) without coming across as a parody of a folk punk band. Clichés aside, the vast proportion of the lyrics are interesting enough to be worth trying to decipher, even in the parts where they get slightly overshadowed by the general musical chaos. Musical chaos meant in the best possible way!

Although the album is undeniably catchy and sing-a-long-worthy while you’re listening to it, I found that it took a few listens before any hooks jumped out as memorable, but I think that’s actually a good thing and stops the album seeming shallow. My main criticism is that there could be more variation between songs, but from what I gather the band are all pretty young and haven’t been together that long, so I’d assume that with time there’ll be greater experimentation, and possibly more variation in sound.

Overall, a really promising album from a band with a great amount of talent, and great ethics to match, who are definitely worth supporting. You can download the album (and everything else they’ve produced) for free at:

http://malloryband.org

http://www.myspace.com/mallorytheband

*It’s not 100% because I wasn’t sure if Against Me! had ever used said instruments, and didn’t want to take that risk.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

